Once I Die

www.lisadaly.com

In the world there will not be another me
There will be other people much like me
But will their suffering be felt by me
once I am gone
when the molecules that make up my body
are integrated into others?
Once I die will my exertions be over?
Can I rest in an endless unconscious sleep
in cosmic time
as before I was born?
Or will there be another birth
in another world and time that will be me?
Maybe I exist already
as all other humans, animals, insects and plants on earth
Maybe there is no escape
And all work and worry
curiosity and joy are mine
and I should strive to make it worthwhile

This entry was posted in philosophy, poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

